Skip to main content

Board of Directors

June 2018 Board Meeting

The Board acted on several issues at the June 2018 meeting, including geographic organ distribution, the member review process and informed consent requirements.

OPTN/UNOS Board of Directors


Sue Dunn, RN, BSN, MBA
President and Chief Executive Officer

Donor Alliance, Inc.
Denver, CO

Vice President

Maryl Johnson, MD
Professor of Medicine, Heart Failure & Heart Transplantation

University of Wisconsin
Madison, WI

VP for Pt/Donor Affairs

Deanna Santana, B.S.
Senior Public Education Coordinator

Sierra Donor Services
Placerville, CA


Theresa Daly, MS, RN, FNP
Director, Transplant Clinical Operations

New York-Presbyterian/Columbia
New York, NY


David Reich, MD, FACS
Chief, Multiorgan Transplantation and Hepatobiliary Surgery

Hahnemann University Hospital
Philadelphia, PA

UNOS - Immediate Past President

Yolanda Becker, MD
Director, Kidney & Pancreas Transplant

University of Chicago Medicine
Chicago, IL

BOD - Councillor Reg. 1

Stefan Tullius, MD, PhD
Chief, Division of Transplant Surgery

Brigham and Women's Hospital
Boston, MA

BOD - Councillor Reg. 2

Matthew Cooper, MD
Director, Kidney and Pancreas Transplantation

Medstar Georgetown Transplant Instit.
Washington, DC

BOD - Councillor Reg. 3

Christopher Anderson, M.D.
Chair, Department of Surgery

University of Mississippi Medical Ctr
Jackson, MS

BOD - Councillor Reg. 4

Steven Potter, MD
Program Director, Transplant Chair, Div of Transplantation

East Texas Medical Center
Tyler, TX

BOD - Councillor Reg. 5

Kunam Reddy, MD
Surgical Director, Kidney & Pancreas Transplant

Mayo Clinic Hospital
Phoenix, AZ

BOD - Councillor Reg. 6

Susan Orloff, MD
Director & Chief, Division of Abdominal Organ Transplantation/Hepatobiliary Surgery

Oregon Health & Science University
Portland, OR

BOD - Councillor Reg. 7

Srinath Chinnakotla, MD, MCh
Surgical Director, Liver Transplantation

Univ. of Minnesota Med. Center
Minneapolis, MN

BOD - Councillor Reg. 8

Timothy Schmitt, MD, FACS
Director of Transplant Surgery

The University of Kansas Hospital
Kansas City, KS

BOD - Councillor Reg. 9

Rob Kochik
Executive Director

Finger Lakes Donor Recovery Network
Rochester, NY

BOD - Councillor Reg. 10

Todd Pesavento, MD
Deputy Director, Comprehensive Transplant Center

Ohio State University Medical Center
Columbus, OH

BOD - Councillor Reg. 11

Kenneth Brayman, MD, PhD
Director, Renal & Pancreas Transplant Programs

University of Virginia Health System
Charlottesville, VA

BOD - Histo. Rep

Walter (Walt) Herczyk, MT, CHS
Laboratory Administrative Director

Gift of Life Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI

BOD - Histo. Rep

John Schmitz, PhD
Director, HLA Laboratory

UNC Hospitals
Chapel Hill, NC

BOD - OPO Rep.

Charles Alexander, RN, MSN, MBA, CPTC
Chief Executive Officer

The Living Legacy Foundation of MD
Baltimore, MD

BOD - OPO Rep.

Diane Brockmeier, RN, BSN, MHA
President and Chief Executive Officer

Mid-America Transplant Services
St. Louis, MO

BOD - Tx. Coord. Rep.

Mary Francois, RN, MS, CCTC

Oak Hill, VA

BOD - Tx. Coord. Rep.

Danyel Gooch, RN, MSN, CCTC
Lung Transplant Coordinator

Indiana University Health
Indianapolis, IN

BOD. - General Public Rep.

Rosemary Berkery

New York, NY

BOD. - General Public Rep.

Randee Bloom, RN, MBA, PhD

Healthcare Consultant
West Bloomfield, MI

BOD. - General Public Rep.

Laura DePiero

North Royalton,, OH

BOD. - General Public Rep.

William Freeman, MD, MPH, CIP
Program Director, Center for Health

Northwest Indian College
Bellingham, WA

BOD. - General Public Rep.

Robert Goodman, MBA
Managing Partner

The Mansfield Group, LLC
Westhampton, NJ

BOD. - General Public Rep.

Macey Henderson, JD, PhD
Instructor of Surgery

Johns Hopkins School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD

BOD. - General Public Rep.

Joseph Hillenburg

Bolingbrook, IL

BOD. - General Public Rep.

Willie Oler, Ed.D.

The Oler Group
Sarasota, FL

BOD. - General Public Rep.

Kathy Schwab, RN, CCTC
Compliance Coordinator

Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN

BOD. - General Public Rep.

Tara Storch
Co-Founder, Taylor's Gift Foundation

Taylor's Gift
Coppell, TX

BOD - Medical/Scientific Org Rep.

Sharon Bartosh, MD
Division Chief, Pediatric Nephrology

Univ. of Wisconsin Hospital & Clinics
Madison, WI

BOD - Medical/Scientific Org Rep.

Charles Miller, MD
Director, Liver Transplant Program

The Cleveland Clinic Foundation
Cleveland, OH

Minority Tx. Prof. Rep.

Akinlolu Ojo, MBBS, PhD, MBA

University of Arizona Health Sciences
Tucson, AZ

At Large

Eileen Brewer, MD
Medical Director, Renal Transplant

Texas Children's Hospital
Houston, TX

At Large

Simon Horslen, MB, ChB
Medical Director, Liver & Intestine Transplant

Seattle Children's Hospital
Seattle, WA

At Large

Jerry McCauley, MD, MPH, FACP
Director, Division of Nephrology/Capizzi Professor of Medicine

Thomas Jefferson University Hospital
Philadelphia, PA

At Large

Rene Romero, MD
Medical Director, Pediatric Liver Transplant Program

Children's Healthcare of Atlanta &
Atlanta, GA

At Large

Marc Schecter, M.D.
Pediatric Pulmonologist

Children's Hospital Medical Center
Cincinnati, OH

At Large

Timothy Stevens, RN,BSN,CCTC
Chief Operating Officer

Guidry & East
Spokane, WA

Ex Officio (non voting)

James Bowman, III, MD
Medical Officer

Division of Transplantation
Rockville, MD

Ex Officio (non voting)

Shannon Dunne, JD
Senior Public Health Analyst

Division of Transplantation
Rockville, MD

Ex Officio (non voting)

Frank Holloman, MPA
Deputy Director

Health Resources and Services Adminis
Rockville, MD

Ex Officio (non voting)

Christopher McLaughlin
Chief, Organ Transplantation Branch

Division of Transplantation
Rockville, MD

Ex Officio (non voting)

Brian Shepard
Chief Executive Officer

Richmond, VA

Ex Officio (non voting)

Robert Walsh

Division of Transplantation
Rockville, MD

Committee Liaison

Casey Humphries
Board Liaison

Richmond, VA